What is SSL ?

SSL stands for Secure Sockets Layer, a protocol that provides encryption of the data being transmitted over the web. It is used to prevent eavesdropping and hijacking of data.

This certificates are used to encrypt data so that hackers cannot access them. It is also used to verify that the website is secure and authentic.

SSL certificates are issued by a trusted certificate authority and are typically valid for one year or more, depending on the type of certificate. In addition, the SSL certificate can be renewed at any time during its validity period.

The most standard types of SSL certificates include Domain Validated (DV), Organization Validated (OV), Extended Validation (EV), and Wildcard Certificates.

Frequently Asked Questions For SSL

What is the purpose of an SSL certificate?

The purpose of SSL certificates is to provide secure communications between a server and its clients, typically using HTTPS. SSL provides encryption of data in transit from one end to another. It also prevents eavesdropping and ensures message integrity by providing data origin authentication, data integrity, and replay protection.

Why is an SSL certificate important?

The SSL certificate provides encryption for data sent from the web server to the browser. This prevents anyone from intercepting the data and reading it. The SSL certificate also provides authentication for the website. It confirms that you are communicating with the correct site, not a fake one set up by hackers to steal your information.

What are the 3 types of SSL?

SSL certificates are a form of security that identify and encrypt data sent to and from a website. Many websites use them to protect against cyberattacks.
There are three types of SSL certificates:
-Domain Validation (DV)
-Organization Validation (OV)
-Extended Validation (EV)